what to do with a morning

March 14, 2009 at 1:12 pm 2 comments

Since my kids left home, my mornings are very strange things. When you have kids at home you don’t “choose” your morning routine. It just happens–and it usually changes every day based on who lost their shoes, who’s throwing up, or who woke up on the wrong side of the bed. But when your kids have left home, there is a strange stillness in the mornings, an invitation to make the morning whatever I want it to be…but I find it a little unsettling. Yes, my cat meows to be fed, I make coffee, my routine is set. But the reality is, it’s too quiet. It’s too stress-free sometimes.

Having no kids in the house can be exciting. After being a mom for 25 years, beginning when I was 19…I finally have all the time in the world to do what I want, to take care of myself, to exercise, be creative…but the mornings are still tough.  It’s like I don’t quite know what to do with myself. Most mornings of course, I am getting ready for my day and heading off to work. But many times these weekend mornings are a struggle, they are strange!

No great insight this morning…just an observation. I guess we forget how much things really change when our kids are gone and we have to learn new ways of living life. It’s exciting and challenging–but not always easy.

Are you an empty nest mom? What’s hard for you?

Entry filed under: family. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Perseverance: Don’t homeschool without it! Great Discussion on media’s influence in our families

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sharon  |  March 19, 2009 at 6:41 am

    You too ? I wrote a blog similar to this one day. Life really is different now.

    Reply
  • 2. Vi Probert  |  September 5, 2009 at 4:00 am

    My only son is in college now and there are days when the walls seem to reverberate with stillness. But I know my son is in God’s perfect will. His college life, with all it’s trials and strains, is perfect for him. I cannot mourn the work of God.

    So every morning I ask the Lord to guide my steps. Some days a hurting friend just needs to talk. Some days I can minister to a neighbor. Some days I volunteer at church. Some days my husband needs an extra hug and a special dessert. I’ll be starting a job soon and probably will miss the quiet house. But I know God has another step for me for take. He guided all of us through home schooling and He will continue to guide us into the next big adventure of our lives as we “Trust in the Lord with all our heart and lean not to our own understanding.” Be encouraged and look to God.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

